Charlotte FitzGerald, and Annie Sibthorp scooped first lady helm, first juniors and first overall to become the Mirror Welsh Champions 2009.

The RYA National Junior Squad pairing saw off multiple World and National Champions, in a closely fought eight race series at this summer’s World Championship venue, Pwllheli SC. Tying on points, former Fireball World Champion, Andy Smith and son Tom, had to settle for second place on count back. 2005 Mirror World Champion, Ross Kearney sailing with Katy Jones steadily improved during the series to move up to third, just pipping Juniors Tom Lovesey and Milly Pugh by one point.

On the first day, in large waves and light breeze, Charlotte, 14, and Annie,13, sailed away from the 29 boat fleet to score two firsts. National Champions Emma and Martina Barry also found speed with a second and third. The third race showed a change in rankings with Andy & Tom winners and several boats OCS, including Charlotte & Annie and Ross & Katy. After the first day Andy and Tom Smith led with Emma and Martina Barry a point behind. Ed and Beth Grey lying in third.

Day 2 brought the sun, with a slight delay on shore before the first race was battled between the Fitzes. Charlotte and Annie claiming first and Izzy FitzGerald and Emily Peters taking second. Ross and Katy pipped Tom and Milly to third. Charlotte and Annie also took race 5 followed by Andy and Tom and Ross and Katy. The last race of the day was won by juniors Tom Lovesey and Milly Pugh beating Andy and Tom Smith with juniors Hugo Sloper and Emma Spruce picking up third.

The final day dawned with flat calm but after a will we - won’t we sail, the sea breeze kicked in providing good conditions. The penultimate race proved a heavily port biased line and the race was won by Ross and Katy who crossed the fleet on port. Andy and Tom were second so went into the last race leading by two points from Charlotte and Annie with Tom & Milly lying in third. The race started with Andy and Tom going right but Ed and Beth chose left and came out with a strong lead. They held their lead all race with Ross and Katy finishing second just ahead of Charlotte and Annie.

Matt and Ben Lulham-Robinson sailed consistently to be first RYA Zone Squad boat. Keeping it in the family Roseanna Yeoward sailing with Charlotte Brown and Harry Yeoward sailing with Nick Elsdon were second and third youths, after Ed & Beth Grey.

170502Charlotte FitzgeraldAnnie SibthorpItchenor2850.01.01.0(30.0 OCS)
270513Andy SMITHTom SMITHNotts County SC2125.
37050Ross KEARNEYKaty JONESRniyc2057.07.07.0(30.0 OCS)
470519Tom LOVESEYMillie PUGHNA2339.0(11.0)
570515Edward GREYBeth GREYRwyc2238.
670504Hugo SLOPEREmma SPRUCEItchenor1943.06.0(8.0)
770559Izzy FITZGERALDEmily PETERSNA1757.08.0(16.0)
869776Emma BARRYMartina BARRYBrightlingsea SC255.
970457Roseanna YEOWARDCharlotte BROWNRhosneigr Boating Association1674.
1070427Harry YEOWARDNick ELSDONRhosneigr Boat Owners1377.
1170437Alex LLOYDJack MOORERya15119.09.015.0(30.0 OCS)
1270391Eloise HANSENInge-lisa HANSENNorth Lincs12110.
1370538John PETERSONClare PETERSONWhitstable YC26126. OCS)
1470252David MOOREAlison NORBURYBlithfield9127.015.012.0(30.0 DNC)
1570346Hal MILLERJohnny MILLERItchenor Sailing Club10121.520.013.510.
1670534Matthew LULHAM-ROBINSONBenjamin LULHAM-ROBINSONYeadon24Zone136.516.013.5(30.0 DNC)
1770503Nicky HAIGHWill NICKSONRoyal Windermere Yacht Club18132.
1870426Helena PUGHNick PUGHPoole Yacht Club1Zone136.
2070536Meia HARNETTElin HARNETTWyc25Zone159. OCS)
2170223David GOUGHHannah GOUGHLymington Town Sailing Club8155.
2270167Catherine HIDEEllie HIDERipon5Zone157.
2370184Harry DENTJack DENTItchenor SC6Zone171.0(27.0)
2470347Anna WATKINSRosie WATKINSPoole YC11Zone172.024.0(25.0)
2570010Oliver WHITEWilliam HIDERipon4Zone195.
2669922Tim LACHLAN-COPETheo CLARKECam SC3Zone197.
2768366Mark HideNARipon29202.0(28.0)
2870549Mali HARNETTIsabelle BRUTONWyc27Zone213.0(29.0)
2970222Dan HARNETTDrystan HARNETT/Midge WatkinsWyc7219.025.026.0(30.0 DNS) DNC30.0 DNC189.0

Scored and Submitted using Sailwave

This page took 0.0254seconds to load